School District of Clay County
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Teacher Inservice Center - Fleming Island High School 2233 Village Square Parkway Hearings for Special Actions regarding Students - 4:00 p.m. REGULAR MEETING - 7:00 p.m. Executive Session (Closed to the Public) - Immediately following the regular meeting to discuss matters pertaining to pending litigation.
October 18, 2007 Regular Meeting
Agenda Item #30

Item Title
C-30 Appoint Architect for New District Ancillary Facilities


According to School Board Policy, State Requirements for Educational Facilities and Florida Statutes, an architect is required to be appointed for this project.


The project was advertised for three consecutive weeks with The Clay County Leader, Inc.  The process for screening and selection was in full accordance with School Board policy.  Selection Committee Members were Jim Connell – Director of Facility Planning and Construction, Tom Smith – Director of Maintenance, and Carol Vallencourt – School Board Member.


As a result of interviews and after due consideration, the Selection Committee recommends the following firms as listed in priority order:


1.  Bhide & Hall Architects, P.A.

2.  Paul Stresing Associates, Inc.

3.  JRA Architects

4.  McCullar & Boatright Architects

Recommended Action
Appoint the top ranked firm, Bhide & Hall Architects, P.A. as Architect for New District Ancillary Facilities at a fee of 6% of the construction cost.

Financial Impact
Based on the District’s estimated construction cost, the architect fees are estimated to be $540,000.00.  This amount is currently available and budgeted in the Part III Capital Outlay Funding.

Submitted By

James A. Connell, Director of Facility Planning and Construction

EXECUTIVE SESSION (Closed to the Public) to discuss matters pertaining to pending litigation. Attendees: Superintendent David Owens; Deputy Superintendent Denise Adams; Karen Bush, Board Assistant; Board Attorney Bruce Bickner; Sabrina Gaston, Board Attorney's Assistant; and School Board Members - Carol Vallencourt, Carol Studdard, Lisa Graham, Wayne Bolla, Charles Van Zant, Sr.